Board of Directors

The NC Strawberry Association is a tax-exempt, non-profit organization. It is funded primarily by membership dues and by the North Carolina Strawberry Assessment. The association is governed by a board of directors elected by the members. The nine members of the board are elected for three-year terms. Officers must be strawberry growers.

Board Members

Doug Patterson, Patterson Farms, China Grove, NC – President

Jim Warenda, FreshPik Produce, Kenley, NC – Vice President

Karma Lee, Buckwheat Farm, Apex, NC – Treasurer

James Brake, Georgia-Pacific, Asheboro, NC

Ron Edwards, Springs Farm, Fort Mill, SC

Beth Taylor, The Strawberry Patch, Whitakers, NC

Ron Cottle, Cottle Strawberry Nursery, Faison, NC

Ken Rudd, Rudd Farm, Greensboro, NC

Faylene Whitaker, Whitaker Farms & Greenhouses, Climax, NC


Debbie Hamrick, Raleigh, NC

Mike Wilder, Bunn, NC

Dexter Hill, Kinston, NC

Zvezdana Pesic-VanEsbroeck, Raleigh, NC

Tom Melton, Raleigh, NC

David Dycus, Sanford, NC


Kristy Phillips, Executive Secretary, Siler City, NC